Saturday, July 12, 2014

Automatically encrypt critical user information in Chrome


One of the characteristics we love about Google Chrome is that it can instantly sync your previous pages, bookmarks, activity, etc. across all devices using the Chrome browser.

But how can you ensure that transfer of that information is safe?

It's really simple.

Step One: Go to your browser settings. You can get to Settings by either click on the main application menu button or by clicking on the three-lined box at the far right-hand side of your browser.

Step Two: Sign into Google Chrome (if you haven't already). Use your same login credentials for your Google account.

Step Three: Click on Advance User Settings. It should be your first option.


Step Four: Look under "Encryption Options."You should see it in the lower part of the dialog box.


Step Five: Click the radio button to encrypt all data.


Step Six: Add a passphrase. This will need to be something you remember because you'll need to enter it within Chrome on every device you intend to sync with your account.


If you do forget your passphrase, you can reset your synced data and assign a new passphrase. It's not the end of the world if you have to do this, but it is a little inconvenient.

Step Seven: Follow these same steps on each device you intend to use Chrome. You likely use Chrome on your desktop or laptop, smartphone, and tablet. So expect to do this at least three times ... maybe more.

Encrypt your synced data today and browse with confidence!